Where the Crawdads Sing - User Reviews

Thank you for rating this movie!

4.54 / 5

User rating: 4.54

Based on 184 votes and 65 reviews


  • User rating: 4.54 81.52%
  • User rating: 4.54 6.52%
  • User rating: 4.54 2.17%
  • User rating: 4.54 4.35%
  • User rating: 4.54 5.43%



Please rate movie 1 to 5 stars






Type the code:


 

Showing 1 to 50 of 65

User review rating: 2 August 18, 2022

Acting O.K. Movie or story just O.K.

User review rating: 5 August 18, 2022

Plot twist to a cool ending!

User review rating: 4 August 13, 2022

I liked that it followed the book plot! There were a few things they left out or changed, but it didn't change the plot.

User review rating: 5 August 13, 2022

I liked the fact that it kept me interested all the way throughout the movie. Very good scenery and the pictures we’re not dark as some movies are. Nice story plot but a surprise at the end.

User review rating: 5 August 12, 2022

A good entertaining movie with a good plot and a nice ending. Partial nudity but no vulgar language which is a nice change. Nice twist at the end to make you go hmmmm.

User review rating: 5 August 10, 2022

Such a touching story with a bit of suspense. Beautiful scenery. A must see. More than once!

User review rating: 5 August 10, 2022

Lots of twist and turns. Well written movie.

User review rating: 4 August 09, 2022

The movie had a good plot line. This movie reminded of the good movies from the past. The end has a great twist. I will buy the dvd.

User review rating: 5 August 08, 2022

Saw this on 7/15 Surprise ending. Had me weepy. Interesting title, makes sense but not what you'd expect

User review rating: 5 August 06, 2022

Excellent movie! The little girl who HAD to learn to be strong! I was so moved as I watched and it stirred so many emotions! Great ending too! Afterwards, just had to buy the book. Getting ready to read it. And might even go see the movie again!

User review rating: 5 August 06, 2022

Great movie. It is worth seeing it twice. I like it better than Top Gun

User review rating: 5 August 06, 2022

It was great getting out and seeing a movie its been so long. And even better when it is a great mystery movie.

User review rating: 5 August 06, 2022

I haven't read the book - it's in my very high pile of to-reads. This was fantastic - the plot, the twists, the characters. I absolutely loved the ending.

User review rating: 5 August 05, 2022

My husband and I saw this movie and loved it!! Had some mystery and twist and turns. Excellent acting! Will buy this when it comes out on dvd.

User review rating: 2 August 04, 2022

Maybe would have been better to see the movie first and then read the book.

User review rating: 2 August 04, 2022

This movie is monotone all the way through and I found it very boring. What you see in the trailer is how it is in the movie, no ups and all downs.

User review rating: 5 August 04, 2022

Never cried so much watching a movie. And totally lost it when Taylor Swift sang Carolina over the credits. Going back to watch it during an entire day's showings.

User review rating: 5 August 02, 2022

Loved the movie. It stayed with book.

User review rating: 5 August 01, 2022

Gripping, tears at your heart! Beautiful, convincing young actress. Might I recommend not rating a movie until you actually see it? :)

User review rating: 5 July 31, 2022

Loved the movie. Loved the book! Great casting. Could have given the last years a little more screen time. I liked it so much, am going again

User review rating: 5 July 31, 2022

Loved the book......Loved the movie! Excellent casting and location of where it was filmed! Seeing it again today for the second time!

User review rating: 5 July 30, 2022

Exceptional acting , cinematography and story line. Thoroughly enjoyed this movie.

User review rating: 5 July 29, 2022

What makes or breaks us in reality.

User review rating: 5 July 29, 2022

This movie takes you into the swamplands and dumps you into an authentic lifestyle situation through the eyes of a beautiful young heart you won't find anywhere.

User review rating: 5 July 27, 2022

Followed the book

User review rating: 5 July 27, 2022

I so loved the book and was just as impressed with how the movie portrayed this story. I am still thinking about and praising the movie, the day after and I know it will be one of my "best"! Congratulations to everyone who worded to put this together -actors, producers, script, cinematography, music, etc al!!!

User review rating: 5 July 26, 2022

Areal story with a twist. Romance and mystery. A great combination.

User review rating: 5 July 26, 2022

The main character did an outstanding job! Total movie enjoyable. As life is, we all go through the good and bad. Always a few surprises and disappointments. How do we cope/handle/overcome the negative!

User review rating: 5 July 26, 2022

It was emotional. Interesting a little bit if a mystery. I highly recommend seeing it. Worth it

User review rating: 5 July 26, 2022

Great movie

User review rating: 5 July 25, 2022

Acting was great. Cast did a great job. It didn't end how I thought it would. But I absolutely loved this movie. May go see it again. Best movie I have seen in a very long time.

User review rating: 5 July 25, 2022

Very good movie. I didn't pay attention to the bad reviews and went to see it. I am so glad I did!

User review rating: 3 July 25, 2022

Having read the book a while back, I was looking forward to the movie and wondering how one would portray the complex yet subtle emotions surrounding events, family, and friends. I wanted to love the movie, but 3 stars is all I can muster. I was disappointed. I know an entire book cannot be captured in a limited film, and maybe I had an unreasonable expectation. But the most I can say is that the film was inspired by an event from the book, but IMO it's a far stretch to say it's a representation of the beautiful and engaging story written by Delia Owens.

User review rating: 5 July 25, 2022

Story was spellbinding settings excellent The acting was also top rate loved it

User review rating: 5 July 25, 2022

5 scars

User review rating: 4 July 25, 2022

The only reason I did not give it 5 stars is that I felt it left out some key scenes from the book that would have made the plot a lot clearer. It was beautifully done.

User review rating: 5 July 24, 2022

Just simply a very solid and entertaining movie! Do not understand the poor reviews a lot of critics gave it because I couldn't fault this movie!

User review rating: 5 July 24, 2022

I’ve already seen it twice… so so good! Casting and acting are excellent.

User review rating: 5 July 24, 2022

I was still thinking about how good this movie was the next day, the day after, and 5 days later still thinking about it enough to leave a well deserved 5 star review! It was a stunning and heartfelt movie that brought out every emotion you have inside. It had mystery and suspense, it has love, hate, and murder. And the setting and videography was absolutely stunning. You'll love it! Worth every penny!

User review rating: 5 July 24, 2022

I had my doubts as I had not heard anyone review this movie (very little hype) and figured a Reece Witherspoon production with a song by Taylor Swift may be a bit too Hollywood for me. I couldn’t be more wrong. The story is beautiful – very moving and well written. A love story, crime drama that will break your heart but feed your redemptive soul. The cinematography is stunning and will likely be nominated for academy award. The plot was deep, always changing and ended with a bang so big it left me beautifully shaken - laughing and crying. Most mainstream movies underwhelm me. This one was amazing.

User review rating: 5 July 23, 2022

Movie is well done, scenery is exceptional. Great mystery never knew who did it until the end and still not sure.

User review rating: 5 July 22, 2022

Best film out in a long time. A real story.

User review rating: 5 July 22, 2022

This movie was one of the best drama mysteries I've seen. It doesn't need off the charts special effects to be effective. Leaves you thinking about it after you've seen it through to the end and makes you want to go back and see it again for points of interest and subtle clues.

User review rating: 5 July 22, 2022

Story developed with terrific characters interwoven with events in the lives of bayou folk. Very Southern take on life with beautifully timed disclosures and turns. And an astonishing and surprising end which was both shocking and satisfying. Music and cinematography outstanding. This is a real story so the Me-Generation would not understand as there are no alien monsters causing car crashes. Highly recommended.

User review rating: 3 July 22, 2022

I did not know anything about the book or what the movie was about so I came to watch without any preconceived ideas. I have seen thousands and thousands of movies in my life and I find that most people here very freely dismantle a pic with a star or over rate it's quality with a liberal 5 stars. Few follow into that category. Very few. So not to give anything away, this is a good movie. Not great, but good...solid script. Never bored at anytime. Makes a nice statement about white privilege in the South where black people and white trash should fit in and has some wonderful cinematography. Do not want to say too much more except it leaves you thinking about the end. Go see and decide for yourself. If your Gen Z this is not for you. Too much story for you and no explosions every five minutes. Done!

User review rating: 5 July 21, 2022

I read the book and think it followed it pretty well too. It sure beat the dark movies coming. There is a lot of history about how life was at that time.

User review rating: 5 July 21, 2022

I read the book, movie followed it well. Moving story which has a real plot without Hollywood BS car crashes and bullets flying. A refreshing slice of real life.

User review rating: 4 July 21, 2022

The movie was so well done. The flow of events was captivating. Great movie. Will see it again. Even after reading the book.

User review rating: 5 July 21, 2022

Acting was awesome and so was the script!!

User review rating: 5 July 20, 2022

I like the entire theme and setting of the movie. I also appreciated the fact that the movie didn't deviate from the book too much - just a couple of small, subtle changes. I thoroughly enjoyed it!

  Change Location