Downton Abbey: A New Era - User Reviews

Thank you for rating this movie!

4.78 / 5

User rating: 4.78

Based on 94 votes and 40 reviews


  • User rating: 4.78 82.22%
  • User rating: 4.78 13.33%
  • User rating: 4.78 4.44%
  • User rating: 4.78 0.00%
  • User rating: 4.78 0.00%



Please rate movie 1 to 5 stars






Type the code:


 

Showing 1 to 40 of 40

User review rating: 5 June 28, 2022

Maggie Smith. I will miss her in future movies of Downton. The whole cast and story line.👍

User review rating: 4 June 23, 2022

I am NOT a Downton Abbey fan. Still not. I thought this was more for the British and very conservative much older seniors ( am 72 ). Not boomer seniors. However, this proved to be quite entertaining especially adding the the movie company to the Abbey and all the antics. Do not want to give anymore away. However, must we always seem to include the gays/lesbians in our films now??? It gets rather tiresome. They are a minority not majority. Otherwise an enjoyable movie.

User review rating: 4 June 16, 2022

I liked the way the old gave way to the new: people and plot. Not a rehash - nice transition. The gay twist was refreshing and progressed naturally.

User review rating: 5 June 16, 2022

Nothing to dislike, it was better than the first movie and tended to keep one in one's seat. Not there was anything wrong with the first one but this did top it. I wonder if they will do a third. At any rate do not miss it if you are a Downton fan or even if you are not. Just fantastic.

User review rating: 5 June 13, 2022

I like that there were so many twists and turns in the plot and it always kept you guessing. I also enjoyed the costumes they were absolutely magnificent. I believe it is a must-see movie for those who enjoyed the series of Downton Abbey. And even if you didn't see the series oh, the movie is very entertaining and easy-to-follow. So what are you waiting for?

User review rating: 4 June 10, 2022

It's a nice little movie, very pleasant, with likeable characters. I think it is for Downton Abbey fans only. The problems of rich people - how will we pay for the repairs on the mansion? Who will inherit the house in France?

User review rating: 5 June 09, 2022

FANTASTIC!! A MUST SEE!

User review rating: 5 June 05, 2022

When you're alone and life is making you lonely you can always go Downton.

User review rating: 5 June 05, 2022

This is everything you would expect and more in a Abbey adition. Beautifully done, keep going

User review rating: 5 June 04, 2022

The plots always keep you interested. All of the actors are great!

User review rating: 5 June 03, 2022

Extraordinary! You will love this film and want to see it again. Four times and yes I want to see it again. True it is relaxing and funny. So well done love the story happy and sad. Oscar performances. CHEERS!!

User review rating: 5 June 01, 2022

Cast never disappoint…the writing is superb. A very pleasant escape.

User review rating: 5 May 31, 2022

Loved how this movie flowed from Downton Abbey. Will see it again and buy the DVD.

User review rating: 5 May 30, 2022

We saw once. We plan to go again. It is a superior English drama: worth seeing: over and over again: over the years. It is so relaxing too.

User review rating: 5 May 30, 2022

Love this movie we pay again and will buy DVD

User review rating: 5 May 27, 2022

Planning to see it again.

User review rating: 5 May 27, 2022

Highly recommend! I would pay to see it again and will buy the DVD when it comes out! Loved all the characters and the costumes were gorgeous!

User review rating: 5 May 27, 2022

Great entertainment, I LOVED IT! Definitely worth seeing again.

User review rating: 5 May 26, 2022

Amazing. The writers have excelled again.

User review rating: 3 May 25, 2022

It was fun to see all of our favorite characters interacting and the familiar sights and sounds. The plot was very contrived and tried to fit in too many story lines instead of developing 2 or 3 more fully. Good for a get away but it won't win an Oscar.

User review rating: 4 May 25, 2022

Loved this series, from PBS through both movies! Very well developed characters (even the secondary characters). Only reason I gave a 4 star, was one of my favorite characters.......(spoiler alert!) "Grannie....Countess" (Maggie Smith) was a great part of best dialogue through the whole series (" weekend.....what is a weekend?") It has been a pleasure to go down the dirt path to the grand castle of the Crawley family and experience the times past.

User review rating: 5 May 25, 2022

BRAVO -- Great cast and superb acting, this movie was even better my second time. A MUST SEE! Films as we remember, no bad language, no violence and plenty of good characters, music and a good story. The world needs more of this to Hollywood!

User review rating: 5 May 24, 2022

The movie was excellent entertainment with a terrific cast and nice story. Also excellent historic period pieces and beautiful presentation of motor cars, clothing, furnishings etc. Highly recommend.

User review rating: 5 May 23, 2022

We loved watching all of the characters come to life again on the big screen!! There are some laughs and a few tears; and it is a joy to to watch.

User review rating: 5 May 23, 2022

It was perfect. So engaging and captivating. Wonderful actors and storyline. I hope he makes another one!

User review rating: 5 May 23, 2022

O.M.G. The acting is so powerful & will reach you. So good, will see it again for sure. Great story, funny, sad and a lot of guessing. Real entertainment takes you back in time , good vocabulary, good manners, shows respect for each other all about family. BRING TISSUES!

User review rating: 5 May 23, 2022

The movie was a long awaited delight. It was so nice to see the family and staff back . The sets and costumes were top notch. The two storylines were seamlessly entwined and the film kept my attention for the entire two hours. I look forward to future films with the cast. I found this film more entertaining than the first film.

User review rating: 5 May 22, 2022

A wonderful movie that you will enjoy very much. Highly recommended!

User review rating: 4 May 22, 2022

I enjoyed everything about this movie! I'm usually a Marvel/action movie fan but this was a refreshing change! Great acting and beautiful costume design!

User review rating: 4 May 22, 2022

Loved the movie, great costume period. My only objection is, Is it necessary to have a gay content in every movie? For me that was a downer and really wasn't necessary. Not that I do not recognize the gay issue, but I feel as a straight male we are being beaten over the head with this agenda in all phases of life. 5% of the population is not a reality to the other 95% of the populace. Great work, more of same, please.

User review rating: 3 May 21, 2022

Although a very clean movie all around…..that’s about all I enjoyed. Very predictable, could have taken a nap instead.

User review rating: 5 May 21, 2022

Great movie all was excellent; nothing to dislike.

User review rating: 5 May 21, 2022

Great story all was excellent and nothing to dislike.

User review rating: 5 May 21, 2022

I had so looked forward to this show and it did not disappoint. Julian Fellowes did another great job with this one. There's a lot of funny pieces, as well as some tearful ones but all were wonderful scenes. And you could really see the personal growth of Lady Mary. I don't know if Julian has another movie in him and can't wait to see it if there is.

User review rating: 5 May 20, 2022

Good to see all the old characters and the new as well. GlD to see all are happy and a little sad.

User review rating: 5 May 20, 2022

Entertaining, much better story line then the first movie. Fabulous sets and clothing as usual. Great to see our familiar friends and check in with them, all aging gracefully. The ending is a humdinger....

User review rating: 5 May 20, 2022

I loved the staff all dressed up and at the dinner table. I will go see it again !,

User review rating: 5 May 20, 2022

Better than the first, let’s have another!

User review rating: 5 May 19, 2022

I LOVED EVERYTHING ABOUT THIS WONDERFUL STORY OF THIS FAMILY. WAS VERY DISAPPOINTED WHEN IT ENDED. WISH THEY WOULD BRING IT BACK

User review rating: 5 May 18, 2022

Best movie of all time, I went to a preview screening and it was incredible!!! I'm definitely going again.

  Change Location