Katharine Isabelle Biography

Katharine Isabelle photo

Born: March 10, 1982


Date of Birth: March 10, 1982

Katharine Isabelle was born Katharine Isobel Murray in Vancouver. As the daughter of well-known Canadian art director Graeme Murray, Katie jumped into acting at an early age. By the time she was five she made her film debut in the major motion picture Cousins (1989), starring Ted Danson and Isabella Rossellini. She moved on to guest appearances in such series as Madison, The X-Files, DaVinci's Inquest and First Wave.

At the age of 10 Katie changed her stage name from Katie Murray to Katharine Isabelle in order to put some distance between her professional and private lives. She went on to appear in feature films such as Disturbing Behavior (1998), Snow Day (2000) and a starring role in Ginger Snaps (2000). Other credits include Josie and the Pussycats (2001), Freddy Vs. Jason (2003) and Ginger Snaps II: Unleashed. She has worked on her father's sets several times, including a 2003 episode of the hit WB series Smallville, filmed in Vancouver.

In 2008 Katie won a Gemini for her outstanding performance in The Englishman's Boy. She also won Best Actress in 2012 at Screamfest for for her portrayal in the title role of the horror film American Mary.

Currently she plays a recurring role as Margot Verger in the NBC TV series Hannibal, starring Mads Mikkelsen and Hugh Dancy, which is shot in Toronto.

Although Katie works almost non-stop, she enjoys riding horses when she gets a chance and loves animals of all kinds.


See No Evil 2 (2014)
Torment (2014)
Lawrence & Holloman (2013)
Cinemanovels (2013)
13 Eerie (2013)
Victims (2013)
Random Acts of Romance (2012)
The Movie Out Here (2012)
American Mary (2012)
Vampire (2011)
Frankie & Alice (2010)
Rampage (2009)
Everything's Gone Green (2006)
Show Me (2004)
Ginger Snaps III (2004)
On the Corner (2004)
Ginger Snaps II: Unleashed (2004)
Falling Angels (2003)
Freddy vs. Jason (2003)
Insomnia (2002)
Turning Paige (2002)
At Shepherd Park (2001)
Ginger Snaps (2001)
Snow Day (2000)
Spooky House (1999)
Disturbing Behavior (1998)
  Change Location